Northumberland County Council is comprised of the elected mayors of each of the seven towns, townships and municipalities within its boundaries. The Warden is the head of County Council and is elected each year from amongst its membership.

Learn more about our County Council members.

For information including delegations to Council and petitions, please refer to the Council Procedural By-law 2020-10, and contact the County Clerk if you have any questions.

View Council agendas, minutes, bylaws and meeting schedules

Attending County Council

The public is welcome to attend County Council.

Council meets on the third Wednesday of each month, with some exceptions. Open session begins at 9:30 a.m. in Council Chambers at 555 Courthouse Road in Cobourg.

Business of Council is conducted in open session as much as possible with the exception of closed session matters pertaining to specific individuals, personnel, litigation or potential litigation, or the receiving of legal advice. Any person may fill out the Request for Investigation of a Closed Meeting form to see if Council met in closed session for a valid, legal reason.