County Council elects new Warden and Deputy Warden for 2024

2024 Northumberland County Council members stand along staircase
Cobourg, ON – December 13, 2023 — Today, Municipality of Brighton Mayor Brian Ostrander was sworn in as 2024 Warden for Northumberland County. He received unanimous endorsement from all members of County Council.

Portrait of 2024 Northumberland County Warden Brian Ostrander wearing Warden's chain"It is an honour to step into the role of Warden for Northumberland County,” comments Warden Ostrander. “I am eager to build upon the foundation laid by our outgoing Warden Mandy Martin, and the collaborative efforts of our council, staff, and community. Together, we will continue to navigate challenges, foster innovation, and ensure Northumberland remains a thriving and connected community."

Brian Ostrander, first elected to office in Brighton in 2003, is currently in his second term as Mayor and County Councillor, most recently serving as Deputy Warden for the County. He is a dedicated advocate for the residents in his community and works collaboratively with leaders from across Northumberland County. As a leader, collaborator, and advocate, he will make significant contributions to the development and well-being of the communities of Northumberland.

Also today, Olena Hankivsky, Mayor of the Municipality of Port Hope, was acclaimed to the role of Deputy Warden.

2024 Northumberland County Deputy Warden Olena Hankivsky lifts right hand and places left hand on a book while taking Oath

"I am deeply honoured and humbled to be elected and to serve in this leadership capacity for our community,” states Deputy Warden Hankivsky. “I look forward to contributing, through this role, to the prosperity and well-being of our county. With a focus on transparency, inclusivity, and engagement, I know this council will continue to build a future that reflects the diverse needs and aspirations of all Northumberland residents.”

Olena Hankivsky, PhD, is a political scientist with over 25 years of experience across academic, government, NGO, and international organizations, including the World Health Organization and the United Nations. She was first elected to public office in 2022, as Mayor of Port Hope and County Councillor. She is the author of seven books and is recognized for her work addressing issues of inclusion, diversity and equity in social and health policy.

The roles of Warden and Deputy Warden are one-year terms, each filled by one of the seven members of County Council. For more information about the members of Northumberland County Council, please visit our Meet Your Council page.

Photos attached

  1. Northumberland County Council
  2. 2024 Northumberland County Warden Brian Ostrander
  3. 2024 Northumberland County Deputy Warden Olena Hankivsky