Official Plan

The Northumberland County Official Plan establishes land use categories and policies to manage growth and protect resources within the County until the year 2034.

Land use categories are displayed on maps. The policies describe our goals for these categories and the types of information we require to evaluate land use changes.

Land use categories in the Official Plan include:

  • Urban Areas
  • Rural Areas
  • Rural Settlement Areas
  • Agricultural Areas
  • Oak Ridges Moraine
  • Environmental Protection Areas

These land use categories are further detailed through the official plans of each of our seven member municipalities.

Download the maps and policies from the Official Plan:

The Official Plan and accompanying documents can be provided in an alternate format upon request.