About the County

Northumberland County is an upper-tier level of municipal government that weaves together seven distinct, yet complementary municipalities:

The mayors of each of the seven municipalities form Northumberland County Council.

Indigenous Land Acknowledgment

Northumberland County is located on the traditional territory of the Mississauga Anishinaabeg. Northumberland County Council, Committee and public meetings begin with a land acknowledgment to recognize and show respect to the traditional keepers of this land - Indigenous peoples who first lived, and currently live, on the land where we live and work.

Land Acknowledgment 

"We respectfully acknowledge that Northumberland County is located on the Mississauga Anishinabeg territory and is the traditional territory of the Mississauga Anishinabeg.

Northumberland County respectfully acknowledges that the Mississauga Nation are the collective stewards and caretakers of these lands and waters in perpetuity, and that they continue to maintain this responsibility to ensure their health and integrity for generations to come."

Our vision

To bring together people, partnerships and possibilities for a strong and vibrant Northumberland County.

Our mission

To be a best practices leader of County government, and a collaborative partner with our member municipalities and community partners.

Our values

Our values guide us toward our goals and unite us along the way. In all of our actions and decision-making, we reference these values:

  • Accountability
  • Care and support
  • Collaboration and communication
  • Honesty and integrity
  • Innovation and excellence
  • Mutual trust and respect

Our Strategic Plan

Our 2023-2027 Community Strategic Plan outlines our vision, mission, values, Principal Direction and strategic pillars to provide a framework to direct planning and decision-making for the next four years and beyond.

Our community

Northumberland is a thriving south-eastern Ontario community. View our Community Profile to learn more.