Garbage and Recycling

In response to COVID-19, households will be permitted to put out one free bag of garbage per week on their regularly-scheduled collection day until May 29, 2020. A maximum two-bag limit per week per household remains in place. Port Hope rural residents will also be able to dispose of one free bag of garbage per week at the Hope Transfer station. Council will continue to assess whether an extension beyond May 29 is required.

Northumberland County provides weekly curbside pickup of household recycling, organics, and garbage, with the exception of the rural ward of Port Hope. There is no charge for recycling, but limits and fees are in place for garbage collection.

Curbside waste program changes

Follow the links below to learn about the new recycling changes, as well as the green bin program.

picture of new recycling bins

Recycle Right Program

 picture of green bin

Northumberland Green Bin Program

Garbage limits and fees

You cannot place more than two bags of garbage at the curb each week. Each bag of garbage must have a bag tag on it. Learn more about garbage fees, tips and reminders.

Set-out reminders

  • Garbage, recycling, and green bin(s) placed on snowbanks, will not be collected
  • Have your waste to the roadside by 7:00 a.m. on your regular collection day 

Leaf and yard waste

We provide free monthly curbside pickup of leaf and yard waste from mid-April to mid-December.

Additional waste

In addition to curbside collection, you may drop off additional waste, like household hazardous and electronic waste, bulky items and more at a Community Recycling Centre.

2020 Collection Calendar

Download the 2020 Waste and Recycling Collection Calendar.